The Virginmarys_rock band

Tales Of The Northern Sound... The Virginmarys are back with a new album this November entitled 'Northern Sun Sessions'.

Hailing from Macclesfield, the band have been hard at it in the studio since the start of the year self producing and creating fresh new works alongside piecing together previously unfinished material, all of which follow the intensity, honesty and urgency that has become a trademark to The Virginmarys sound.

After the success of their debut album ‘King Of Conflict’ and follow up sophomore ‘Divides’ produced and mixed by Gil Norton (Foo Fighters, Pixies), singer/guitarist Ally Dickaty says this third album is his favourite work to date.

‘I’m more excited about this record than any others we’ve done. We’ve created a beast that sounds massive. There’s a lot of freedom in this record, I’ve felt liberated and closer to the spark that had me writing in the first place. We’ve been working so close with these songs from start to finish and it’s felt right pouring ourselves into them. It’s a very special record that feels closest to the energy of our live performance than any before.

The Virginmarys have always endeavoured to remain deeply rooted in their own sound, organically turning away from fads, scenes or indeed anything that steers them away from their own playing styles.

“The whole journey is about communication rather than fame or money,” Dickaty explains, “I feel the anger, boredom and dissatisfaction beneath the surface of everyday life and it channels into the music. I can see it in people I meet from day to day and I feel lucky I can express it through music rather than getting myself into a lot of trouble.”

Amongst the intensity and danger in The Virginmarys sound, there remains a strong sense of vulnerability and social conscience running through the songs that often lyrically express painful and uncomfortable honesty like a rhetoric of dark journey.

“Music keeps me alive and closer to the truth, I don’t know where I’d be without it.
It provides a platform to express thoughts and emotions a lot more effectively and beautifully than words alone. You can make use of dark times in your life and turn them into something incredible that resonates with others”, says Dickaty.

‘Northern Sun Sessions’ was recorded and engineered by by Ally Dickaty at Preach Studios, with drums and big guitars recorded and engineered by Mark Winterburn at Edge Studios. It was mixed by Kemble Walters in Los Angeles and mastered by Mike Kalajian at Rogue Planet in New York.

Drummer Danny Dolan talks about the HEAT!… “We started recording the album at the end of June during the sunniest week we’ve ever experienced in the Northwest”, explains Dolan, “the heatwave continued throughout the rest of the recording process in what turned out to be the hottest summer recorded in the UK. It was a really cool omen and added to the specialness of this record given the album title.

The new album ‘Northern Sun Sessions’ is released 16th November 2018.



01 Look Out For My Brother 
03 Eye For An Eye
04 For The Two Of Us
05 Blind Lead The Blind 
06 Get Me Back Home
07 Northern Sun 
08 Wanna Be Free
09 Flags 
10 Step Up
11 All Fall Down

The Virginmarys exploded onto the rock music scene in 2013 with their album ‘King of Conflict’, which debuted #3 on the Billboard New Artist Alternative Chart and #8 on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart. With ‘King of Conflict’, The Virginmarys were dubbed the buzz band of SXSW, received major support from US Active Rock and Alternative radio, and press acclaim from Rolling Stone, Alternative Press, USA Today, and more. The band followed up with 2016’s Divides which, in addition to major press, was hailed by Apple Music, Spotify, Yahoo! Music, and more. The Virginmarys have brought their highly charged live show to tours throughout the US, Europe, and Japan, supporting artists including Queens of the Stone Age, Shinedown, Buckcherry, Eagles of Deathmetal, Crobot, and hitting huge festivals to include Reading & Leeds, Download Festival, Sonisphere, Isle of Wight Festival, and more.

The Virginmarys live:
20 Nov – BRISTOL, The Louisiana
21 Nov – LONDON, Hoxton Square B&K
22 Nov – LEEDS, Brudenell Social
24 Nov – MANCHESTER, Club Academy
28 Nov – GLASGOW, Stereo

The Virginmarys are:

Ally Dickaty – Vocals / Guitars
Danny Dolan – Drums / Percussion

Connect with The Virginmarys

You Tube

This post was published on 17th September 2018 and filed in these categories; Bands, The Virginmarys.

See Red. Be Heard.

Stampede Press UK is a trading style of Stampede Press UK Ltd Registered in England: No: 08157855
Legal Information & Cookies | Web Design by Lingo Design